Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Civil War Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents
The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Dates:
1856-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henkel Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates:
1783-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 J23
Scope and Contents
Correspondence of Cyrus Rosser James (1855-1937), Methodist minister in Virginia (on the Buckingham, Heathsville, North Mecklenburg and Whitestone Charges), with his family including his wife, Annie (Shields) James and his children. Also includes account books, accounts, photographs, scrapbooks, printed books and postcards.
Dates:
1826-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lassiter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L33
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence and speeches); 1861-1928; of Francis Rives Lassiter and Charles Trotter Lassiter. Correspondence concerns Virginia Democratic Party, Prohibition, the Good Roads Movement, agriculture, and the presidential campaign of 1928. The collection includes a list of Petersburg, Va. volunteers in the American Civil War; letter copybooks of both men; and papers, 1910, relating to the death of Francis Rives Lassiter. 962 items and 8 volumes. Acc. 2011.613...
Dates:
1861-1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Smith Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1972.46
Scope and Contents
This collection details the personal and professional papers of George Smith and William E. Nelson. Legal documents consist of deeds, forms, and official papers. Business materials include account books, checks, and promissory notes. The collection also covers various publications and a few personal correspondences.
Dates:
1862-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center